New Odyssey Poetry Series

Poetry publication began at TSUP in 1997 when the Press established The T. S. Eliot Prize for Poetry, which was discontinued after 2017. Each year TSUP received about 500 manuscripts, which were screened and judged by a nationally known poet who selected a winner and four finalists. The winning manuscript was published in our New Odyssey poetry series. In addition to the prize-winning manuscript, we published one or two other poetry books each year. These generally were solicited manuscripts from previously published poets.

Poetry Editor

Jim Weaver McKown Barnes, is the founding editor of Chariton Review. He is also a contributing editor to the Pushcart Prize. He has published over 500 poems in more than 100 journals, including The Chicago Review, The American Scholar, Prairie Schooner and Georgia Review. His translations have also been published in journals, such as Sycamore Review and Black Moon.

Dr. Barnes, of Choctaw and Welsh ancestry, was born and grew up in Summerfield, Oklahoma. He received his BA from Southeastern State College in Durant, OK (now Southeastern Oklahoma State University) in 1964 and his MA (1965) and Ph.D. (1970) from the University of Arkansas. He taught at Truman State University from 1970 to 2003, where he was professor of comparative literature and writer-in-residence, and taught at Brigham Young University from 2003 to 2006.